Loving the Lima

Nope, it’s not a typo or a city in Peru. I really do love lima beans. But I’m not talking about those dry white beans your grandmother boiled into mush or fed you straight from the can. (Well, okay, I like those too, but I’ll save that for a future post.) The vegetable I’m raving about this week is fresh lima beans—harvested, shelled, and eaten while still green, before the beans have matured and their sugars turned to starch. I planted limas for the first time several years ago. What a revelation! The immature limas were a new side to a vegetable I thought I knew. Steamed and served like peas, they have a distinct and mildly sweet flavor. I often eat them with rice to make a complete protein and if I’m feeling decadent, drizzle them with olive oil or butter.

Fresh limas, ready to be shelled

Fresh limas, ready to be shelled

Tonight I served my green limas atop leftover spaghetti squash sautéed with fresh tomatoes and oregano. I discovered spaghetti squash among the glossy pages of a seed catalogue a few years back and planted it on a whim. Prolific and hardy, it’s now become a staple of my autumn diet and a regular substitute on my plate for both rice and pasta.

To prepare spaghetti squash, simply cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, then place the de-seeded halves on a baking dish or cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees F until soft. Then use a fork to scrape out the spaghetti-like strings of the squash. You can eat it plain, with butter or olive oil, or you can top it with your favorite sauce or stir-fried vegetables. I especially like it with homemade fresh tomato sauce and grated parmesan. Add a salad of fall greens from Harvest of Joy Farm LLC and a slice of garlic bread and you’ve got dinner!

About Harvest of Joy Farm LLC

At Harvest of Joy Farm LLC we seek to develop, practice, and share farming systems that mirror the resilience, diversity, and self-sufficiency of a healthy biotic community.
This entry was posted in Lima Beans, Recipes, Spaghetti Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

